RSS

Ah, thx my iPhone ;)

22 Aug

Have you had to go through the trouble of copying your contacts from your old phone to the new one or had to spend time copying your contacts manually?

Whether you’ve lost your current mobile, replacing to a flashy new smartphone or just tired seeing your mobile after paying out your Telco for the 24-month contract you had signed up for and everyone around you seems to have a ‘newer’ phone! Every now and then comes a time that we all dread! changing or upgrading our mobiles…

Just like a lot of you – I went through this experience not that long ago. I changed to an iPhone 4 from my 3GS which had been quite faithful and had taken quite a few blows during it’s journey with me. I had the shiny iPhone 4 and needless to say I was too excited to even think of the pain to copy my contacts to some other place, I did not even think twice what would happen to all my fancy apps that I’ve downloaded so meticulously over the past year and a bit and – and not once did I think what if I lost all that? or had to do the traditional way of ‘copy from SIM’ and ‘transfer’ — it’s always a pain those things & sooner than you realise you end up with multiple contacts or no contacts showing up, you loose your settings, your favourites or whatever you were used to and had taken so much time to make your phone that ideal companion that you could call upon….but must say, the switch over from one iPhone to another iPhone was truly a blessing in disguise!

Connect to iTunes to get started...

The customer experience was second to none, easy as the initial screen asks you to plug in your new device – in this case the iPhone 4.

Once I connected my iPhone 4 to my mac, iTunes started up and popped up with a message recognising that I’ve connected a new device and asked me if I wanted to use a back-up from my previous device and there was a selection of two of my previous devices – aka, my iPhone 3GS and the iPad. Obviously, I choose back up from my 3GS.

Of course, there was the option to choose to set it up as a ‘a new device’ and not bother about anything else but I did want my back-up. I wanted my new iPhone to have all the things I was use to on my previous iPhone so I don’t have to go through the trouble of any re-setting stuff etc.

While I had a sip of my pinot noir, the back up restored from my previous iPhone was synced up to my new iPhone and was ready to use. The sarcastic side of me and thinking that ah, it can’t be that simple plugged out my the new device and I was surprised (read = elated!) about the whole experience and really I must say, this is the first time that I didn’t have to bother about any external apps or syncing services or the ‘talk of the town’ these days – the cloud…zillch! all was taken care from my iTunes account and the fact that I regularly back up my iOS devices and everything was fine and in no time I was up and running with all my contacts, SMS message history, Apps and to the extent that I was going to reset my weekly alarm and even that was synced up – now that’s got to be something!

Yes, a few of you would comment that contacts from MS outlook can be synced up but hang on, how many of us really use outlook as the place we store and regularly update our contacts.

Thanks iPhone for making my life so much simpler! that I didn’t have get frustrated copying or syncing my data, specially my contacts from one phone to another. 

How was your experience when you changed to a new phone? Would be great to hear from you…

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
